Carpe Diem!

January 10, 2014 § Leave a comment

Is a phrase I didn’t actually know the meaning of until just now, however the real meaning is unimportant and unrelated to this post because I was just looking for a phrase that had carp in it somewhere…

OK, so its another bad pun, but hey! My latest project has been making a needle felted koi carp, and I felt that this blog hadn’t had nearly enough puns in it lately, so, with a koi smile I decided to put some in this post… (now I feel slightly embarrassed. That was a really carp joke…)

DSC_6647

This little fish was actually inspired by yesterdays wanderings around Cardiff, where I ambled to Roath Park, and had a look inside the little Victorian hothouse, which was full of tropical plants and had a big pond teeming with koi carp.

WP_20140109_023

WP_20140109_005

WP_20140109_001

WP_20140109_010

I watched them for a while, and realised that they would look lovely in felt. So I started on a felt carp them moment I got home!

Here’s a picture of it in progress. I strated with a based of white wool, and then added the colour and detail on top.

WP_20140109_025

and a couple more of the finished fish!

DSC_6651

good fish 1

good fish 2

I’d like to make a koi carp mobile, though I still haven’t finished the last fish mobile I started!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Carpe Diem! at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

