What does the fox say? I hear you ask…

February 5, 2014 § 1 Comment

The boiler in my house is leaking, and has been for about a week. Someone’s supposedly coming round to fix it today, between the hours of 8 am and 1 pm. Eugh.

So I got up before 8 when they may or may not arrive, and I don’t really function in the mornings. so I’m sort of sitting, staring in to space and feeling sorry for myself. I bet they get here at 12.30, and I’ll have probably accidentally gone back to sleep by then, thus completely negating the process of getting up early in the first place.

Because I am now bored as well as sleepy, here are some pictures of this fox that I made a couple of weeks ago

DSC_6610

DSC_6617

DSC_6615

DSC_6614

DSC_6618

I had high hopes for this one, but it didn’t turn out exactly as planned. I think by making him with his mouth open, he looks slightly demonic, as it was difficult to make teeth small enough to be realistic. And I wanted to make him more fluffy, but in the end the head took so long that I gave up.
Still not bad I think, Thought I can’t tell if it’s better or worse than the last fox I made.

This was one of the first animals I made, back when I was just learning how to felt
fox 1

I took some process photos of demonic fox as I was making him, a habit I’ve started to get into for everything I make.
I start with a wire armature, then felt the wool around it, starting with cheaper undyed wool and adding the colour and detail once I have the basic shape I want.
Actually I start with a cup of tea, then I make the armature!
The wire is good because it means I can change the pose once the animal is complete.
First fox didn’t have an armature, and as a result his legs were a bit floppy and he didn’t hold his shape very well.

The Wool before I start –
WP_20140105_002

Basic shape
WP_20140105_003

Adding colour
WP_20140105_004

Well, its 9 o’clock and the boiler man isn’t here yet. I should probably just give up and go back to bed!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to What does the fox say? I hear you ask…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What does the fox say? I hear you ask… at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

