Creatures of the British Wilds

February 28, 2014 § 8 Comments

I have been furiously felting British Wildlife of late.

DSC_6662

The creatures of Britain hold a special place in my heart. You see, as a child I was obsessed with animals. I wanted to be a zoologist. I read all the wildlife books in my school library. Well, when I say read, I mean I looked at the pictures, and tried to draw photo realistic copies of these pictures. I didn’t realise then that liking animal didn’t mean that zoologist was the only available job option to me.

Any way, I digress.

I lived in the countryside from the age of ten, and I used to go searching for wildlife – collecting little fish from a stream, only to let them go again, waiting impatiently for bats to come out at dusk, crawling through hedges looking for birds nests. And occasionally I’d stumble upon a hedgehog, or a badger, sometimes even a deer, and this would fill me with such excitement.

To me, British mammals have an heir of mystery about them, something I feel but I cannot explain. Like they are the last remnants of something magical in a place that has very little wild left. Every time I see a wild creature I feel truly privileged. I still get the same buzz of excitement that I did when I was a child. So my recent felting projects have been in honour of this.

I know that fallow deer are not native to Britain, they were introduced in the 11th century, but hey, rabbits aren’t native to Britain either, and they are one of our commonest animals!

First here’s the Badger. I have only seen three live badgers. Mostly they are dead by the side of the road, which saddens me. They are wonderful animals, so full of character!

DSC_6664

DSC_6663

DSC_6642

DSC_6665

And the fallow deer –

DSC_6646

DSC_6652

DSC_6651

DSC_6649

DSC_6655

I am going to stay focused of British wildlife for now, I’ve got many more to make!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Creatures of the British Wilds

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Creatures of the British Wilds at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

