Felting with hand dyed wool!

December 11, 2014 § Leave a comment

Having now washed and dyed some of the mule sheep fleece, the next step was to try felting with it. This was the most exciting step, as I haven’t felted with that many different fibres (so far, mostly merino, with a bit of experimentation with corridale, shetland and alpaca)

I had dyed my wool shades of orange and brown, with the aim of ultimately making a fox mask. But so far I only had small experimental bits of dyed wool, so I decided to make a small model of a fox instead.

DSC_0677

The mule sheep wool is quite course, and it needle felts really well, making a firm 3D felt very quickly. This is quite a contrast to merino wool, which I have made most of my sculptures out of. I find that merino takes a long time to felt, and it takes a lot of stabbing to make it firm. Though the finish is lovely and soft, the process seems to be a lot more difficult than I found the mule wool to be.

The finish of the fox is much rougher than a merino sculpture, but I really like it.

Here’s a couple more pictures

DSC_0680 DSC_0679 DSC_0681 DSC_0683

I am really pleased with this, mostly because none of the wool was commercially processed. I feel a lot more connected it it because I have been involved in a lot more of the process of creating it. It feels a lot more natural in a way.

The fox is currently for sale in my etsy shop

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Felting with hand dyed wool! at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

