Woolly Wild Adventures in York!

August 9, 2015 § 2 Comments

On Friday and Saturday I had a stall at the British Wool Show, which took place in York. Now as some of you might know, I live in Bristol. York is rather far away, but I had always wanted to visit it, so thought I could combine a woolly escapade with a holiday.

So off we went to York, with a car full of Woolly Wild Things, and almost with the cats, who desperately tried to pack themselves.

WP_20150805_001

We had a couple of days to wonder around the city of York, exploring its picturesque winding streets and excessive number of pubs. We passed many a ghost tour taking place, but unfortunately didn’t have time to join one ourselves.

Then it was on to York Auction Mart, to set up for the show!

DSC_1062 - Copy

DSC_1076

DSC_1067

DSC_1079

There were loads of other stalls there, all wool related. Many different types of wool, yarn, fleece. I spent quite a lot on restocking my wool supplies, and got rather overexcited! I promised myself I wouldn’t buy any more fleece but somehow went home with a whole beautiful grey shetland fleece.

I had a great two days, talking to people about my craft, and letting people try on my hats. I met lots of other people who were passionate about wool, and it was nice to talk to people who were as genuinely as interested in it as I am. I was given lots of useful tips on washing and dyeing fleece which I can’t wait to try out.

DSC_1111

DSC_1106

My stand at the wool fair

DSC_1108

Ding some work.

DSC_1113

DSC_1119

Hats!

DSC_1087

DSC_1139

Sleepy Marcus hides under a series of hats.

I’m back in Bristol now, and have spent most of today washing fleece. I have a huge backlog as I got four whole fleeces from a farmer in Devon only a couple of weeks ago! So much fleece, so little time.

WP_20150809_001

A garden full of fleece

WP_20150809_003

Washed fleece drying!

Now that the wool fair is over, I’m going to focus on some big projects. All the fleece I have will be used in more hats and some other costume pieces I have in mind. The wool fair was a very inspiring setting, it has definitely encouraged me to make more!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Woolly Wild Adventures in York!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Woolly Wild Adventures in York! at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

