Wings and whatnot…

October 5, 2015 § Leave a comment

I have been working on some quite adventurous projects lately.

A while back I had the idea of making felted angel wings, and I finally got round to trying it.

I had a plan in my head, and amazingly, it worked exactly as I imagined!

WOOLLY WILD THINGS-2415

When I started needle felting, I loved making small models of animals, and that was fun for a while. But I have since realised that there is so much more potential to felt than that. The possibly of making huge sculptural costume pieces is too good not to try. I really think it is possible to make anything with felt, and that is so exciting!

I hope my projects will continue to get bigger and bigger and more ambitious.

Anyway, here are a couple more photos of the wings in action.

WOOLLY WILD THINGS-2417

WOOLLY WILD THINGS-2397

WOOLLY WILD THINGS-2431

I made the wings by stitching layers of flat felt together. Each layer I had cut to the right size using a pattern and then embroidered lines on using my sewing machine. I stitched strong wire inside, needle felted the detail on top and then attached the wings and wire to a wet felted waistcoat that I had made.

WOOLLY WILD THINGS-2517

We had fun playing around in Leigh Woods taking photos.

I am making a bird mask to go with the wings, but that is only in its first phase! I will post photos soon!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wings and whatnot… at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

