Sometimes experiments go wrong…

March 3, 2016 § 3 Comments

… But that doesn’t mean you should give up.

Today I made this –

image

This was an experiment that turned out well.

I had seen pictures of other people’s felt, where 3D parts had been added on during the wet felting process. How do they do that? I thought to myself. So I did an experiment.

The spikes I made separately, leaving little tufts at the end, which I attached to the main body before the whole thing was properly felted.

The first time I tried this it went terribly wrong

image

None of the spikes attached well, and the whole thing was a floppy shameful mess. However, I was determined that it would work, so I tried again.

In the second attempt I left longer tufts on the spikes, and rubbed the join with soap and bubble wrap before rolling the whole thing a lot.

And that time it worked! Woo!

image

image

I’m not sure if I will actually do anything with this. I wanted to test the method before using it in a hat, without wasting to much wool for experimenting, so I made something small first.

I may well turn it into a monster!

We shall see!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Sometimes experiments go wrong…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sometimes experiments go wrong… at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

