Wool everywhere.

March 10, 2016 § Leave a comment

I have a few wool related things I have been doing lately.

I have been needle felting, and dyeing and carding.

Today I carded wool for about four hours. I had several colours that I had dyed yesterday, and then a lot of undyed white.

image

I’m planning on making some kind of lizard hat, so this is in preparation for that.
Annoyingly, I’m not quite sure what breed of wool this is. It’s from the batch of for fleeces I got from a farmer in Devon. He said the sheep were Oxford down and mule, but I have used mule before and I thought it was coarser than this. And it didn’t seem the same as the other fleece I was using, which I assumed was Oxford down. But maybe I was wrong.
It’s lovely wool anyhow. Nice and soft. I shall do some experiments to see how well it wet felts, and then I shall make some hats out of it!

image

Here’s all my hand dyed wool. The orange already made the tiger hat, and I might make a leopard out of the yellow. Lots to do!

And then, following the experiment from my previous post, I decided to needle felt a face onto the strange thing I had created.

image

And this little monster was born. He’s amusing, but I’m not sure of his purpose right now. My cat seemed to like him though.

image

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wool everywhere. at Woolly Wild Things.

meta

